The workplace...

As a self-employed ecologist, I often have to work on Bank Holiday weekends but somehow this seems less of a hardship when the worlace is a bluebell wood in spring. This morning I was almost blown away by the intense blue and overpowering perfume of massed bluebells and the low sunlight shining through the fresh green foliage. They've been a long time coming, but I'm not sure I've ever seen them so perfect.

I spent over five hours in the wood without seeing another soul. My recording is very unobtrusive, and many of the woodland birds will approach quite closely. Today a treecreeper landed on a trunk right next to me and scurried up it searching for insects, without any worry at all. I just love it when I become part of the background. The flora was beautiful but not terrible species-rich, though highlights were seeing the downy leaves of a wild service tree unfolding and recording greater chickweed for the first time in my life - and at a new site in Huntingdonshire (there are only three others).

This evening we continued the celebration of spring by going for an evening walk to Castor Hanglands. It was mild enough not to need a jacket or coat, and we were chorused by at least half-a-dozen nightingales and a cuckoo - a perfect ending to the day.

PS Thanks for all the positive comments on yesterday's image. It was a bit of an experiment for me, as it was actually a panorama made up of two portrait images. This was the only way I could fit the church and the rookery all into one image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.