Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Dispersing...

Thanks so much for all the good wishes for my leg - it seems that many of you have also suffered from sciatica. Today's been a little better, and I've managed to get quite a lot done, including the first phase of hole filling in the bedroom we're renovating, walking Rosie, mowing part of the lawn (with some help!) and sitting through a two hour bathroom design consultation. Although I have to say I'm feeling a little sore tonight - hope I don't pay for it tomorrow...

Spring suddenly seems t have leapt forward, and there were many insects on my lunchtime walk, including at least four species of damselflies. I'm only carrying a single camera and lens at the moment and I can't easily get myself into positions that require leaning forward, which meant flighty damselflies were impossible.

However, this brightly coloured bug Corizus hyoscyami, was very well behaved, and by carefully kneeling I was able to get a few shots. Although historically confined to the coasts of southern Britain, this species is now found inland throughout England and Wales as far north as Yorkshire. It's associated with a range of plants, and overwinters as an adult. At the moment these overwintered adults are dispersing into new habitats, where they'll produce a new generation of bugs in August or September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.