My Day, My Life

By SixtySix66

We Are Family

This isn't a true likeness of our family.

Anyone that says otherwise, watch out, my lawyers are monitoring this blip!

For those of you with young children or have had young children and they're now older, you might recognise the artwork in my blip, though perhaps not the illustration itself as it's a one off.

David Melling is a well known author and illustrator of children's books, among them

The Kiss That Missed,
Just Like My Mum,
All Change,
Jump In,
Fidget and Quilly

And The Tale of Jack Frost which was made into a film and shown on the BEEB

David painted this watercolour for an exhibition of children's illustrators which took place in Edinburgh 2009, to coincide with the book festival.

There were original works by John Ryan (Captain Pugwash), David McKee (Mr Benn and for the younger kids (Elmer) Lauren Child (Charlie & Lola) Chris Riddell (The Edge Chronicles) and (Ottoline) and many others too.

All of the artworks were for sale, some of them very expensive, some less so and some, somewhere in-between.

As soon as I saw this picture I had to have it, I'm not sure if I surprised Mrs blip pleasantly or otherwise when she saw it but we like it and it makes us smile.

Well it makes me smile :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.