My Day, My Life

By SixtySix66

Chasing Cars

This afternoon My Girl and her best friend were racing go-karts on the largest indoor track in Scotland, pretty impressive it looked too!

My Girl has never driven one before, though her friend has.

So she was a little apprehensive beforehand, we gave her lots of encouragement and reassurance that she'd be fine.

No, I didn't shout, what kind of a father do you think I am!

The girls went off for their pre-race briefing and got their racing overalls, whilst we four parents sat and watched the others who were racing on the circuit.

One or two of them were particularly fast, remember, a certain Mr Lewis Hamilton started out this way!

Then it was the girls turn to race, in this heat there were a total of 7 drivers, all juniors.

They were each given their crash-helmets and neck protectors and gloves and then allocated their karts and then they were OFF!

A couple of turns in and My Girl had a bit of a blip, when she crashed into the barriers but with a little assistance from one of the track marshals she was soon on her way again and with no other incidents.

I think she enjoyed it, it was a good introduction to the world of racing and she can only get faster next time.

Well done My Girl! X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.