There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Pink Lily-of-the-Valley

"I must have flowers, always, and always." - Claude Monet.


It rained all day on Monday: a good day for staying inside.

But I needed a blip, and so I ran out into the yard with my camera wrapped in my shirt during a break in the rain. Just misting. Good enough.

I kneeled down by the lily-of-the-valley beds, breathed deep. Ahhh. Bliss. I wish I could capture the scent and post it here with the picture.

My Grammy's - my maternal grandmother's - signature scent was lily-of-the-valley. When I smell it, my heart smiles, and I see her again in my mind's eye.

Grammy:
With her lilting laughter and her great big sneezes (ah-WOOH!!-hoo!),
Planter of gardens and lover of flowers,
Maker of the world's best homemade strawberry ice cream,
Oh so fashionable in her floral dresses and her peep-toe shoes!

Almost all of the lily-of-the-valley plants that I have - hundreds, growing on the north side of the house in the shade - were given to me by family members, mostly by my dad, who has an eternally green thumb. Except for these few pink ones: these, I bought from a catalog through the mail.

I think Grammy would have loved them all . . . Grammy, I smell them and I remember you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.