The Wren

By TheWren

Canarian bee

The visit to Gran Canaria was quite disappointing as I found the island appeared unkempt and a bit unloved on the areas away from the tourist spots. However we did visit three really interesting gardens, one of which had an area devoted to endemic Canadian species which is where I found my blip.

This flower is an echium dechaisnei which is only found on the three eastward islands, those nearest to Africa. The ground was volcanic and very fertile and the shrub can grow to a height of 2 metres. It is bee pollinated and I was so lucky to catch sight of this Canarian striped bee taking its fill. Does anyone know the name of this bee? The Internet access here is very expensive and sporadic so I cannot google ...... Or indeed take time to comment on your journals, so I do apologise.


I also saw echium strictum which has a delightful pale blue flower is a smaller shrub, growing to just 1 metre. Another endemic beauty was a euphorbia atropurpurea grown just in Tenerife and Gran Canaria with lovely wine coloured flowers.

I am not alone in saying that Gran Canaria is not on my list for a return visit, but tomorrow offers a trip to Lanzarote where I will be visiting the "fire mountain". Now I will enjoy some sunbathing and swimming on deck! .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.