The Wren

By TheWren

Goosegog in the making

I am glad you enjoyed the taddy in the bubble yesterday. I had been quite mesmerised by it and was delighted that the camera managed to pick the sphere up so well.

It is an early blip for me today as I have been meaning to include a shot of these gooseberry flowers for a while and I always seemed to have another shot I preferred. Any more procrastination and the fruits will all be set - hopefully - and the moment lost.

These flowers are tiny and it took me quite a few shots for my camera to recognise what i was after and focus! Alas there is no sunshine today to throw light on the image but I am happy with this one as it shows all the tiny hairs so recognizable in the fully formed fruit, yet I hadn't realised until I took the macro that they are also present on the rather pretty flower petals. You can also see that this is not a thornless bush!

My father used to grow these and always called them goosegogs - hence the title.

Hope you enjoy your Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.