Hits hit Le Galion

Day 2 of my little glimpse of the Hits European tour, this is the band getting their first impression of the legendary rock venue Le Galion in Lorient. I woke up at my hotel in Brest but the band were staying 15 kilometres away. Instead of them doubling back, their hosts, Fanch and Coralie, arranged to pick me up when Coralie picked up their kids in town. I'd never met Coralie before but with a description of me and advice to look for a woman with three children at the train station, it was easily sorted. After a couple of hours at their delightful home we set off in the van, and I was on navigation and DJ duties with the old iPod. It's a serious business DJing for a van full of musicians on tour, but they loved a lot of the stuff I played. We got to Lorient and found the venue. We'd been told to expect something special, and it was even better than we could have imagined - an old sailors' bar by a now-defunct port that has been turned into a rock'n'roll bar. The show was a blast and it was the biggest crowd of the tour - support band Ultra Bullitt were there again as well, so it was great to see them again too. The night ended up with much revelry into the wee small hours... loads of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.