My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

It's not about me

At student group this evening, my sister was sharing about how "it's not about me" and "I am not an accident" from The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren. Way back in 2004 (when I was only 12), our church gave a copy of the book to everyone, including the youth group.

I was looking through my own journal that goes with the book the other day - I never finished it, but some of the things I realised and wrote down were fairly profound. It reminds me that young people are often far more capable of understanding things than we give them credit for - if they choose to make the effort to understand it.

Spent a few hours revising in the Chaplaincy today - it's nice there, because you get free tea and coffee, plus there's a piano. Coffee + piano = happy melamny, even when there's revision to be done!

My Grandma's funeral will have been this evening. I wish I could have gone, but it would've been incredibly impractical, if not impossible. Rest in peace Grandma Louise, and I'll see you again one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.