Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I'd rather tidy cupboards than be a tourist today!

A dreich morning spurred me on to a few tasks that have been cast aside in the recent excitement of my new toys..

I wrote to the Pensions folk, filed various important looking official letters, sent my meter readings, did a few emails (mainly saying a polite no thanks to would-be house swappers), put money on the mobile phone -which is always a trial as I do it so rarely, I forget, and it's like a new manoeuvre each time - and cleared out a cupboard. Phew!

I found:
3 discarded cafetieres, perfectly all right
11 mugs of various shapes and sizes with things written on them
4 vacuum flasks, mostly with no lids to go with them
Various nice wee shaped empty bottles of all sorts
An iron
2 scruffy whistling kettles, one red, one black
3 empty biscuit tins
and other things too embarrassing ( but NOT rude!) to admit to.

I feel accomplished!

Popped over to visit Uncle A. He was suitably jealous impressed with my camera. In his day, photographing birds, he had all the latest gear, so he knows what fun it is. Told me about more cootlings at the duck pond, and agreed I needed a longer lens.

Bus into town to visit the museum - ideal for blipportunities on a wet day! But what is this?

'Museum closed due to industrial action'.

Some sad, drookit tourists standing around, looking puzzled, but hopeful.

So I popped to the High Street to see what I could see. Ran into an ex-colleague who has recently retired and we stood yakking, in the rain, opposite this bus for ages. I suggested a coffee, meaning, actually, somewhere indoors. But no, he was in a hurry somewhere. Not enough of a hurry for me to hear all about his mother dying on the day his siblings arrived from all over the world (including Australia) for his 60th birthday! This made it easier for funeral arrangements and selling of the house, which they seem to have completed in a week. Quite some story. Would have appreciated it better at a table. Inside. With a coffee.

However, I did blip the bus at the same time. A few desperate folk on it, though none in the open top bit, funnily enough. I always feel sorry for tourists in the rain, but then, I've been one in various cities in the rain as well, and you just get on with it.

Right. Must go and admire the new tidy cupboard again. Maybe I should keep those nice wee shaped bottles. They'd make a nice display somewhere...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.