Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Goslings at last!

Popped to Figgate Park this morning, hoping to see Mr Shoveller. No luck - he's gone in search of a Mrs Shoveller... In fact, quite a lot of the geese had gone - the goosanders, and the gadwalls I saw last time with the bird watching group (that's how I knew what they were...). However, there was lots happening.

Mrs Swan is nesting on the island, and so Mr Swan is charging around, relentlessly chasing the Canada Geese, even if they're miles away from the island. He'd chase them till they went on land, and then wait for them at the edge. Often a dog or people would come along, forcing the geese to make a run for it. At one point a whole class from the nearby high school came out for a jog around the pond. However, when I went near them, the geese just ignored me and went on chomping grass.

But - best of all! I found some goslings! I'd actually walked past them, as I was looking towards the pond, but they were on the grass inside the walkway. They were a wee bit too far away for a decent shot, so I walked round and came near them very slowly. They didn't seem to mind, although they were watching me like hawks Canada Geese. I was only a metre or so away from them when I sat and just watched the wee ones cuddled up together. Occasionally one would stick out a wee leg and stretch it.

Eventually it got too much for them and they sailed off. No (audible) signal, just all got up and plopped into the water. So I chose this shot, as I really liked the reflections of the trees and the reeds. I missed the wee one at the front suddenly doing lots of splashy dives under water.

Lots of dogs too - at least three spaniels like Brodie (blue roans) and a wee female miniature schnauzer.

Went to the doctor about my blood tests last night as requested by them. Only to be told that two of the tests aren't back yet and I shouldn't have bothered... However, the doctor, one I haven't seen before, seems to think my aching legs and general fatigue could be lack of Vitamin D. She says everyone north of Birmingham should be taking Vitamin D supplements. I popped into the chemist on the way home today to get a bottle of Cod Liver Oil. I do remember taking that as a child. Reluctantly. Of course, now it's in nice wee capsules.

How's this for a Freudian Slip: I was talking to a woman as I stood by the Canada Geese who were very close, but ignoring me, while the swan lurked at the edge of the pond. I was telling her that the swan had been harassing them all morning.

'They're more afraid of that scone than they are of me! Did I say scone? I meant swan!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.