... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: father in flight

I took quite a few photographs on Clapham Common this afternoon (despite the drizzle); all 8 goslings seem to be pretty cheerful AND have now started sprouting new feathers! They're no longer just downy, but have actual contour feathers coming through on their fronts, sides, and wings. They look awfully cute...

I found it hard to pick this photo when the goslings have actually undergone a not-just-size-related change, but I will go back to the common on Saturday afternoon, so shall aim to snap them all patchy and dishevelled-looking for my blip that day; I know that the goslings will be there, but I don't know if the adults will take to the air...

This is the male goose: he again chased off a mallard and circled around over the lake (on air defence duty it seems) before landing on the ground by his family.
I was quite a spectacle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.