No 113: Pied Flycatcher

Yay! A new blip bird, and a lifer for me! We thought we saw one of these in the Forest of Dean 2 years ago but as we weren't very sure, I didn't "claim" it.
We went down to Padley Gorge today - a very special place in the care of the National Trust. These birds are known to nest in the woodland there but last year, despite quite a few visits, they failed to show themselves. We also saw the stunning redstart - one of my favourite birds, and quite a few other lovely woodland species like nuthatches and treecreepers.
One website described the brook which flows down the gorge as either trickling or roaring, depending on the weather. Today it was most definitely roaring!
The morning concluded with a pleasant lunch in the cafe at Longshaw Lodge.
I rashly said a while back that I was aiming to get to 150 in my bird blip list. Pete is sceptical that I can do it, whilst I'm feeling quietly confident!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.