The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Oysters!

Not quite what the Walrus and the Carpenter, or I had in mind for today. I set off to do the fourth leg of the Sheffield Country Walk today - an early start, in the expectation of fine weather, and the hope of Ring Ouzels. This walk takes in some splendid scenery - from Stanage Edge, much beloved by people who enjoy wearing luminous coats and helmets and dangling from ropes. It turned into a bit of a route march, because it was quite breezy again, and the warm sunshine I was expecting did not materialise. However, I saw a good assortment of birds - curlew, meadow pipit, grouse, kestrels, reed bunting - and yes! my first ever Ring Ouzels. Thrilling! I managed a couple of photos, but they were so poor that I could not bring myself to blip what would have been no. 72 so I'm taking a chance on seeing them again. I've marked the spot on my map with "here be ouzels" and intend to return to try and get a better shot. Instead, I'm posting these rather nice oyster mushrooms. What a difference a little rain makes! These and other fresh fungi were sprouting vigorously on fallen logs at the start of my route.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.