MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Brahma NOT Brahms!

Big big day! The future unfolds at last! Well, at least there's a glimmer of it. I taught the first class of my LCA course today. Six students, in Portuguese, and it went really well. I had a brief dip in my ability to clearly communicate about an hour and half into the lecture, but my professora took over for me a bit. The students were all motivated and focused- I think it will be a great first-foreign-teaching-experience. And it sure as hell makes me respect all those professors at Tech that I used to make fun of. Teaching in your non-native language is a fun challenge, but I'm sure I wouldn't always see it that way.

To top it off, I got an email today announcing a Fulbright Postdoctoral program focused on STEM and Brazil. The awards are for 4-month and year-long research stays in 2013-2014. Soooo... it might be perfect. (You know, if I can finish that whole PhD thing on time.) I can barely contain my excitement.

After all this joy and happiness, I ate lunch with friends and found this festa-announcement. I misread it and thought they'd be performing both Bach and Brahms... but then I wondered why they would charge extra for the Brahms... but then I realized it said Brahma, which is a type of beer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.