In My World

By JoanneInOz

The Bell Tower

I've been searching for old buildings in my area recently, and have managed to find the odd one or two, although they mostly seem to be churches.

On Wednesday, I blipped the Anglican Church in Coolangatta, built in 1937, but my church today is even older.

This is St. Augustine's Catholic Church in Coolangatta, built in 1926, at a cost of ten-thousand and seventy pounds, including furnishings. That would have been a huge amount of money back then, but you can see what the money was spent on. Look at the stunning carvings and architecture of the building.

It's really quite a find for this area, where most of the substantial buildings have been built recently.

The bell tower stands at 110 feet high. The whole building is rather breath-taking when you look up to take a photo at close range.

There are more photos of both of these churches in Coolangatta at my website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.