Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Architecture 2: Perpendicular Gothic

A good day today.

It started with a trip to Micheldever Woods for my annual bluebell fix. Unfortunately the display was a bit sparse, probably as a result of the unusual spring weather. Still the morning was glorious and the walk through the woods after a week behind a desk invigorating.

For the afternoon I headed into Winchester and a visit to the cathedral. I was annoyed with myself a few weeks ago when I missed a south coast blipfoto meet-up here, but was compensated by today's experience.

To start with a large choir and orchestra were practising for a concert tonight. They were singing Gounod's Messe solennelle, not a piece I know, but they made a good sound. A visit to the crypt to see the Antony Gormley sculpture Sound II was another delight as the recent wet weather meant the floor was flooded, giving rise to wonderful reflections.

I chose this view of the nave for today's blip as the second of my architectural themed photos for a camera club challenge (the first is here. The cathedral was started in 1079 in Norman (Romanesque) style, replacing an earlier saxon building first established in the 7th century. It was remodelled in the Perpendicular Gothic style in the late 14th century and the nave is the longest in England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.