Out with the old and in with the new

I gave in to temptation yesterday and went to buy myself a new camera, specifically a Canon Powershot S100. It should permit/force me to learn a few more functions, but it's basically the same size as the Ixus and thus can go everywhere with me. Here you can see one of its first efforts, which was a picture of a certain person drinking red wine whilst watching Hairy Baker catch-ups on the iplayer last night. That was taken on automatic and seems sharp enough, but I am going to try to learn how to do this stuff with apertures and isos and exposure times and such like.

While not normally a sucker for such consumer therapy, I felt I couldn't resist yesterday (I've been resisting for a couple of weeks...). Perhaps the various members of my family will understand when I turn up at an upcoming wedding wearing conspicuously worn clothing... My priorities lie elsewhere.

I nearly changed my blip yesterday. After an early blip of a flower on the balcony, we went into town to see a man about a camera and then went looking for a bus out to Corstophine, so we could go to PC World and get me a wireless dongle for the laptop. We had to walk all the way from the corner of Lothian Road and Princes Street to beyond Haymarket Station, because Shandwick Place is 100% dug up. What a bloody mess it is! I don't go to that end of town very often, but those who live or work there, or must travel through regularly, must be tearing their hair out. Although we had a mess on Leith Walk, at least the whole thing wasn't closed. Unbelievable. Here are a couple of pictures I took, which I was minded to replace my blip with, but didn't in the end, after someone retweeted it.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.