Chaos and Calm

By KatKatzenjammer

Look, lookseeclick... (Part two)

My tigress sleeve (started two weeks ago)) is coming along nicely. Had another session done yesterday morning before the birthday shindig. Naturally I had to show off the party face yesterday, but I know several of my lovely blip buddies like to see my tattoos when they're done because the work is beautifully done by one very lovely and talented man, and there is always a very powerful story behind each one. Fellow blipper lookseeclick has been interested in this particular tattoo since a few weeks before it was started.

Cutting a long story short, this tattoo is about my relationships with family members. We're not the most funtional or close family, so it's a reminder to relax and enjoy things while all is well, but keep my guard up as to not end up hurt the next time everything breaks down again. The initials of my mother and three younger brothers will be worked into the water pattern on the inside of my arm (my left), so they will always be close to my heart. Regardless of how well we're functioning as a family and whether or not we're all in each others' good books, they are and always will be family. They are part of me, good and bad.

This sleeve seems to become all the more important and perfectly timed.
The middle brother was very badly beaten some time ago - so bad he was on the 'critical' list for a while. He got through the make or break part very well but now he has plateaued, and he is getting frustrated.
The oldest brother has been in drug rehabilitation for over two years, and as he now nears the end of his program there have been some health complications arise. He will be okay, just on medications for the rest of his life. (He is nearly 21)
The youngest brother, who has been more sheltered than the rest of us, is struggling after his best friend had a fatal asthma attack three weeks ago. He has never really known death. Elderly friends of mum and my stepfather pass now and then, and he is fine with that - it's to be expected. But he is not quite 14, and his friend was only a few weeks older than him. The death of a friend is never easy to deal with. But at 13, having been sheltered so much, it's proving very difficult for him.
And mum... She's just been diagnosed with liver cancer and is waiting on more test results.

That really wasn't a very short story, was it... But is was the short version of a very long and complicated story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.