The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Fat Mama

Yes, this is her actual name. She is a VERY large feline, and resides in Bleecker Street Records in Greenwich Village, NYC, USA.

Fat Mama was not very happy with me photographing her, even though I had my iPhone on silent, and respected her privacy as much as possible.

I wonder what she is thinking?? It must be a challenge for her to wake up every day and have all sorts of strangers taking her photo. I found myself talking to her and apologizing, "Just one more shot, honey pie. There you go sweetheart. Look at me and smile."

Obviously, she is not smiling. In fact, she did the usual cat trick, turned around, tucked herself under like a Butterball Turkey, and assed me. I was impressed. She must weigh in at around 20 pounds...or so.

Even more outstanding was the vast array of vinyl, CD's and posters lining the 2 story shop. Music for every generation. I wish I had been able to browse more.

Music has a way of triggering emotions, and if you're anything like me, you have your own list of special tunes that bring tears of joy or despair, recall an intimate moment, or send you back in space and time.

Music is funny that way.

Bleecker Street Records has been around for many years, and is well known for its fat cats. I imagine that Fat Mama has been fed well during her tenure there, and that very few mice get a chance to nibble at the old album covers or boxes of inventory.

I have a lot of respect for this cat. She is a West Village icon, yet doesn't let her fame get to her.

At least not very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.