The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Legacy

Yesterday was Mother's Day here in the United States. I spent most of the day in New York City with my daughter who is about to graduate from college. She took me to brunch, then we managed to walk all over Greenwich Village, from East to West, and everywhere in between.

Strong iced cappuccinos gave us a charge, and led us away from the Hudson and down Bleecker street, where we shared a gelato from Grom. I wish I could say it was the best gelato ever, but must admit that it was just "okay."

Several missed trains later, and yesterday truly became my own. My younger daughter picked me up at the train and handed me a container of vanilla ice cream. I handed her a bag with an NYU T-shirt inside. My curiosity caused me to ask about the pint of Hagen Daz.

"Wait until you see what I made. It took me 3 hours!"

I couldn't wait to see my surprise! Lo and behold, she made this beautiful fruit tart, complete with a shortbread crust and homemade vanilla custard cream. I immediately forgot about the "so-so" gelato and cut us all generous slices.

This, my friends, was my Mother's Day Dinner!

It is exciting to watch my daughters blossom into fine young women, and especially wonderful when they cook for me!

My mother surely had a smile on her face yesterday. The legacy continues...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.