Arachne

By Arachne

After work

By the time I finished work today, after everyone else had gone home, the sun was finally out so I ditched my grey mid-day photos and took my camera to the playing fields.

Once upon a long time ago there was a gasworks with gas-holders here. But in the 60s the buildings were demolished and the metal dismantled and when I first saw this ugly site 20 years ago it was surrounded by tall fences with keep-out notices warning that the land was poisoned.

Fifteenish years ago convoys of lorries started to arrive with topsoil from a building development elsewhere. They carried on coming for weeks, then the council moved in with seeds and saplings and basketball hoops. Now it is a nature reserve with a recreation ground, and is just the place for watching the sun set from ground level after a long day at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.