Harri8

By Harri8

Can, can!

Tiong Bahru market was bustling with colour and energy this morning - reminding me of European markets where shopping is a social experience; locals locked in deep conversation yet simultaneously casting discerning eyes over the produce. I love to get lost in the maze of a good market such as this one: ears tuning in to the hubbub, inhaling the various scents (good and unusual), vision saturated by vivid and exotic fruit, gleaming fish glinting in the corner of my eye, watching animated faces ... all a far cry from impersonal supermarkets.
A Chinese woman saw me ask the price of an intriguingly patterned orchid, hanging high up from an abundant flower stall.
"How much?" she asked with a smile
me: "Twelve dollars"
"Good price" she smiled, nodding enthusiastically "Can, can the price!" (double can = Singlish to emphasize the affirmative).
"Yes, the petals have a lovely pattern."
"Lovely" she agreed.
Ok, so not a world changing exchange, but such a guileless friendliness which I find as exotic as the two foot tall Jack Fruit I saw yesterday in China Town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.