There is good reason why this fruit should not be pressed - and not just from fear of bruising the flesh - the same reason that the durian is banned from being taken on any form of public transport or taxi, and that is because they stink. People of course do (thankfully in one sense) disobey and I have been on the underground when amongst an influx of passengers getting on, there has been a sudden certain, distinctive, unmistakable fetid whiff of durian. Some say its aroma is akin to that of rotten flesh. Whatever, the stench is rotten and makes the flesh creep. Most Singaporeans find the flavour delicate and exquisite. I like to think that I have a varied and liberal palate and convinced myself that its fragrance was disconnected from how it tasted and willed myself to enjoy it. Eeeeyeuuuuuuulch! Flavour and smell were mirror reflection; the texture was like that of raw egg with lumpy bits. And then it repeated on me for hours after, and durian burps reverberate endlessly like alpine echoes. However, I have been assured by those who tried it once and felt similarly, that when giving it a second chance they had an altogether more flavourable favourable experience ... and apparently durian ice-cream is yum. So perhaps it's time ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.