A little bit lost in a very white world!

I knew it was going to be hard adapting to this brave new world of blip, changed to be more responsive and simplified for multiple different platforms, but I didn't expect it to be quite this hard. I am willing to admit that this might say more about me than the new design, but I feel a very great sense of loss tonight. It's like I've had to throw away my very favourite pair of slippers, threadbare, but so completely comfortable that I was unaware that I was ever wearing them, to be replaced by a utilitarian pair of shoes that are rubbing in all sorts of odd places. I've only had them on for an hour and blisters have already started to form.

After a short period of use I've discovered some odd bugs and inconsistencies that are hard to understand, but there is one huge issue which, at the moment, is really preventing me from embracing this change in a positive way, and that's to do with the image size and the navigational clutter at the top of the screen which means you can't see the whole photograph. If the picture is square or portrait format the only way of seeing the image as a whole is to view 'large' to make it smaller, which is counter-intuitive to say the least! For a photo site the most fundamental design consideration should surely be that you can view your photographs cleanly. And I now realise just how well the previous grey design worked. This white background is so much harder on the eye. That could well be personal taste but it was something that did set blipfoto apart from the rest. I feel like I need to retrain my brain.

I thought it worth recording my immediate knee-jerk reaction. I might look back on this entry and wonder what I was fussing about. Change is generally painful in life, and blip has become a big part of my life. To finish off, I have to tell you that certain words keep resounding in my head. Said in the intonation of a certain Craig Revel Horwood - with apologies to those of you who don't follow "Strictly" in the UK (which I unashamedly believe to be the best light entertainment show ever produced) - "It's a Design Disaster Darling." I exaggerate of course, just as he does. We should all be patient and be happy that it's working responsively - and hope that blipcentral is able to recognise and respond to our concerns. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.