The Interpass of Old and New

It feels strange to be posting this image tonight, knowing that I will never again use this interface to which I've grown so accustomed over the last three and some years. It's become a very old friend, a much loved one indeed, but it's also now showing its age, not just in look, of course, but in speed. I don't think they could have left this upgrade any longer for fear that the site would have just keeled over and died on us. There have been a few times this last week or so when it has actually died on me. It's been incredibly frustrating to have made a bit of time over at the end of the day to browse some journals and then be frozen out. I've pretty much given up on it recently in the expectation of a massive improvement with this major makeover.

I'm actually quite excited about the new interface. I like what I've seen so far but the true test will be when we get to use it for the first time. The new servers are going to be running hot when they boot up the shiny new version tomorrow night. That will be one big test for the software. There will surely be a lot of nerves around at blip central. I wish you all the best you guys at the sharp end. I know what it's like. Here's to you being able to crack open the champagne in twenty-four hours time.

So it's out with the old, shuffling, and in with the new, a certain spring in its step. I've just noticed how appropriate this image is for the occasion! Amazing how often that happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.