eyesee

By davidc

When a photo is not so welcome...!

OK you guessed it - last month Manchester police wrote to tell me that they'd kindly taken a photo of me in my car; they even sent me a link to the photo on the web. How nice! Except that I wasn't so pleased about this myself, as they'd captured me in the act of doing 60 mph in a 50 limit.

This brought me out in a rash of shame, having had an unblemished driving licence for 45 years including nearly 35 years as a member of the Institute of Advanced Motorists (double shame). My wife and I both remember me suddenly saying (whilst overtaking on a dual carriageway), "Oh gosh, I hadn't realised there was a 50 limit here, I'd better slow down". Clearly I didn't do so in time!

In this situation the police give you 2 choices - a £100 fine and 3 points on your licence, or attend a Speed Awareness Course (for £85 and no points on the licence). A no-brainer really! So today I attended the course (taking this photo of a 50 limit sign for today's blip on the way!).

I didn't quite know what to expect - the course lasts 4 hours! In fact it was fascinating and highly informative - and also sobering. The course leaders were great and totally non-judgmental and involved us (22 miscreants) in interesting discussion. It was really more of a refresher in advanced driving than just speed awareness (although inevitably that figured quite large). So I actually enjoyed it.

I'll have to be careful now however - if I misbehave again within the next 3 years there's no alternative to a fine and licence points. So I'll be watching the speedo a bit more carefully from now on (but hopefully not so avidly that I bump into something!).

Such is life.

(Note: I can't blip the actual photo taken by the police as one is bound not to distribute any copies of the info on the website.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.