Life Savors

By osuzanna

The White House

This white house was actually  the “White House” for a single day in 1814. 

During the "War of 1812," the White House and Capitol were burned by the British Army.  President James Madison and his family fled 20 miles north of Washington to the little town of Brookeville, Maryland.   Today, Brookeville isn’t much bigger than it was then, but it claims fame for being the Capital of the United States for one day on August 26, 1814.   

The front view of the house is pretty ordinary and the shots were full of telephone wires, so I thought this rear view was a little more interesting.  Since the house has occupants, I didn’t feel free to wander all over the property looking for a good shot.  


While Blipfoto was down, I read a book  and took a little tour of Brookeville.  I am reserving judgement on the new site because they claim there are more member features coming that haven’t been implemented yet.  I will wait for the finished product.  I do find the white background a little tough on my eyes. 


I have had a very difficult time uploading my photo.  Apparently there is a file size limit which I never experienced before.  Does anyone know what the limit is?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.