Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Chilled Zippy Gives Blipfoto The Cold Shoulder

I am totally frustrated with this site.  I just wrote what was probably 300 words and because my mouse slipped off the arm of my chair, everything I wrote disappeared.  That never happened before!  My mouse constantly is slipping without repercussion to anything I have ever done on any site on the internet!!!!

I totally and completely despise, hate really don't like this revamped site at all.  I won't even go into all of the good things it left behind like I did in the epistle I first wrote that disappeared because it's 4:15 am and I'm going to have to eventually going to have to go to bed.

I want milestones to be celebrated with balloons, because now they are not going to be (okay maybe I'm going to do it a little).  I want cameras next to names be hover-able so that you know what they stand for...why didn't they keep the same colors?  I don't want 400 blips to be celebrated instead of 500 blips. And why celebrate 50?

I want to be able to link back to people in notifications to thank them for favoriting my blips.  I don't want to be blinded by a completely pure white screen with large lettering each time I log on.  The font causes me to shrink my screen which in turn causes me to shrink the photos.

My desktop has an oversized monitor.  I can't tell you how this site overwhelms me on it.  They optimized this thing so it would be better for 'mobile devices' ie phones, and to hell to those of us who are behind the times and still use REAL FREAKING CAMERAS AND COMPUTERS to take and process our photographs.  We are those people who also VIEW Blipfoto on our computers.

I have that oversized desk monitor and a 17" laptop.  Big computers.  This white is killing me and I've only been on for about four hours. 

I have bad eyes.  Just yesterday I picked up my fourth prescription since my eye surgery to try to correct my vision.  I had to get special glasses for driving that match my specially measured sunglasses.  The new one is not right.  I can see close.  I can see far.  But I can't see a foot away.

I struggle with my photography.  The ophthalmologist sent me to someone who was supposed to help me with identifying when things are vertical or horizontal, which I can't presently do.  Depth perception, too. But this eye doctor just gave me these two new pairs of glasses and told me I'd have to hope my brain would learn to adjust to those things on its own.

Now Blipfoto is aggravating my eyesight and frustrating me with all of the clicks necessary to find things.  Followers. If I want to comment on one particular person's blip, I have to click, click, click until I find them.  A list was so much more efficient.  I didn't need to see their pictures.

What about the people to whom I subscribed.  Not all of them were my followers.  Are  they there?

Besides the screaming white which is killing me, here's the second biggest peeve I have.  All of the back blips you've posted - the blips which pre-date your official sign up date, have been added into your total blips.

Besides this being totally unfair and screwing peoples numbers, it messes with the pureness of consecutive streaks and completely throws off anniversary dates.

I take great joy in celebrating all of my milestones with my long-time blip friend, HarryJ.  We were to celebrate our 1460th consecutive blip (4 years) on 30 December.  I, however, had four back blips, which moved my date up to 26 December.  Unless Harry had the same number of back blips, we will never again celebrate a milestone together.

Blipfolios. Gone from our sites.  You can't link to them.  But if you had one started you can access it at http://blipfoto.com/blipfolio.  I was just getting ready to redo mine.  I had deleted almost all of what was there and had spent hours identifying photos to include and new headings.  Now, how are blippers to see them?  What a freaking waste.  I don't even know if I can edit it now or if it's frozen in time.

Now, I'm getting ready to preview my blip but, lo and behold, there is no ability to preview it.  No ability to fix my mistakes.  No ability to set the crop for my thumbnail.  Simply "POST,"  which I suppose I shall, my dyslexic self, do without the benefit of previewing three or four times.

Cross your bloody fingers because the white has really blinded me.

I'm afraid Blipfoto has lost its soul.  It has become like every other photography site.  I'm betting the designer also designed 500px because it looks so similar.  It's less personal, harder to navigate and if the only good thing people can say about it is the pictures look better then there's something wrong.

I know, give it a chance, most of you would advise me.  I will...to a point.  But some fixes need to happen and they need to listen to the members.  I am close to asking for the money back that I gave them to become a Lifetime member because this is nott what I thought I was paying for.  I was paying for the site as it was, and as I thought the 'look' would always be.

So, opinions?

PS Adding to the map was a nightmare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.