A Different Kind of Christmas Tree

It is the season when we should be prepared to expect wonders! It is my custom to visit the Arboretum at Penn State several times a week, when the weather permits. I am often there first thing in the morning as the light arrives, usually for just 15 minutes or so, walking around with my camera to see what's new in the gardens. There are beauties to enjoy every season of the year.

And what a wonderful surprise I found waiting for me in the glass house of the Arboretum's children's garden, Childhood's Gate. It was a Christmas tree, shining and sparkling with light and ornaments! But it was not your traditionally decorated tree, with tinsel and Christmas balls. OK, it had a few of those things, but primarily it was decorated with found items from the gardens.

It was like a happy walk down memory lane. There were hydrangea blooms, and twigs, and pine cones, and dried slices of fruit, and berries of every kind strung on strings. And even the seed pods from summer's lotus blooms. I never would have thought of placing them on a Christmas tree, but they seemed just perfect there.

Such delights! I stood like a child, with my mouth agape. And took many, many pictures. Behind the tree, I also discovered another treat: a small Christmas village. (It shouldn't take you more than two guesses to figure out whose little friends just had to have a quick impromptu play session in the village.) I left with a great big smile on my face.  :-)

The song to accompany this has to be a Christmas tune, and here's one from the 80s: Band Aid, with Do They Know It's Christmas. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.