Down a Country Road

I live in rural central Pennsylvania, and among the things that I enjoy most about my area are the charming little country backroads. They turn and twist. Heaven only knows what hidden delights may lurk down some forgotten bend in the road. They are bordered mostly by cow pastures, horses, woods, and ponds, and the occasional house.

This is the tiny side road off of one of the main roads that I travel each day. To the left, behind that brush, is the little pond that I've photographed often. (If you saw how teenie it was, you just might laugh.) Straight ahead, there is a large farm with a long tree line that I love to visit when the sky is doing amazing things. When I look down a winding country road, my heart smiles to think of what might just be waiting ahead.

I can hear a heavenly band full of angels

And they're coming to set me free.
I don't know nothing 'bout the why or when

But I can tell that it's bound to be,
Because I could feel it, child, yeah, on a country road.


The soundtrack is James Taylor's Country Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.