Times Of My Life

By CarolB

19

Today is the 19th - how the heck did that happen? 

Was getting a new fridge delivered by Curry's today, so had to stay at home.  Thought I might as well just get stuck in to putting up the tree and sorting out some decorations etc., after I had done some housework. 

As often happens, a very circuitous route was taken to achieve these objectives!

I needed to clear a path through the debris and rubbish which completely cover the floor of the garage, so that I could get to the stepladder to access the high shelf where the Christmas stuff is stored.  2 hours later, I have almost completely reorganised the camping equipment, and sorted the barbecue stuff into a much neater arrangement.  I reach the decorations and carry them into the house.

On my way in I notice that the patio is a terrible mess of wet leaves, so I grab the broom and have a bit of a sweep.  As I go to deposit them in the Brown Bin, I have to swerve round the overgrown rose bush onto the soggy grass.  I detour to the garden shed to get secateurs, and give it a quick prune.  When these cuttings are put in the brown bin, I realise I have not yet collapsed my washing whirly for winter, and do so and then put its wee green coat on, and zip it up.

While I'm doing this, I notice the hooks for hanging the bird feeders on, and realise that I still have not washed and sterilised the feeders so that they can be filled and put back out.  Cue to immediately gathering up all feeders, dismantling them, taking them in for a good wash, then filling them up and putting them back out.

Now need to scrub and bleach the sink.  Decide to put some washing on.  Have a coffee.  Walk the dog.  Receive text from Curry's to say fridge should be with me in a couple of hours.  Get call from Mum to say my son-in-law's trainers (ordered for his Christmas) have arrived. 

Realise the twinge in my big back tooth which I woke with this morning, has now turned into proper toothache.  Phone dentist to make appointment for Monday.  Take painkillers.  Phone G to get him to pick up parcel from Mum.

Put up Christmas tree. We have 2 trees, this is the smaller one, and I don't like the look of it.  Take it back down again, back to garage, pack it away, get the big one.  Takes ages to put it all together as each branch slots in individually.  Decorate it.  G comes home with the parcel for Bryan.  They have sent me the wrong size of shoes.  They came from Germany, so not much chance of a replacement pair reaching me in time for Christmas.  Pissed off.  Very disappointed.

Start to put some decorations up, stick a fish pie in the oven for tea.  Fridge arrives.  Kitchen now looks like a war zone.  Eat tea.  G is going out.  I was going to go shopping, but it is now half past eight, and I still haven't finished the decorations. 

Decide it is imperative that I do my Blip RIGHT NOW.  Is now nearly 10pm.  Still have all my parcels to wrap. Have 2 fridges in my kitchen.  Have abandoned shopping plan, and opened a bottle of wine which was meant for Christmas Day.

Cheers all, thank God it's nearly Christmas!

Realise that the whole time I have been typing this, my photo has only uploaded 4%!  Screeeeam.  More wine. Copy this text, log out of Blip.  Log back in, paste text and upload photo again.  Up to 95, no 100% - yippee! 

Must go and wrap some parcels now - we are having the kids tomorrow for an overnighter, and their room is full of presents that I do not want them to see!

Night night world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.