The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Blowing free

These are two of the fell ponies grazing on the Helm, they are owned by a colleague, and they are beautiful animals.  It was very windy on the hill, and their manes were blowing free.

Well, this is my first blip since the launch of the new look website, and having had no broadband/internet connection at home for the last three days, I am still finding my way round.  Our broadband connection mysteriously reappeared last night when we returned from visiting Arnside Simon.  I rushed to upload this photo, and then it disappeared again before I succeeded.  Then, this morning, it was back, and so far hasn't disappeared again.  Meanwhile, I'm still waiting for a progress report from BT on how they are getting on with fixing it.  

It was actually the phone line, rather than broadband itself.  The line was cutting out and was very noisy, then we heard from one of our neighbours that every time our phone rang, hers did too.  She picked it up and could hear the conversation.  It was a bit like the very old days of having a party line (that shows my vintage, I guess - as does the link above).

This is a brief reappearance by me, as we are travelling over to BW for a couple of days for a pre-Christmas visit to friends and family.  I'm sorry I haven't been commenting etc, I simply haven't been able to get online.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.