The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Braegate sunset

Is there a a different quality of sunset experienced from Bishop Wilton in the Vale of York?  Could that be possible?  Arnside is famed for its blazing sunsets, yet when ever I visit BW, I see sunsets of greater subtlety than I'm used to.

After driving over, I dropped Wifie in Pocklington and headed to BW to give Gus a leg stretch along Braegate before darkness fell on this eve of winter solstice.  Eduardo was at home and joined us for a walk before his evening gig.  Partway round we were joined by S and her little terrier George (who promptly snarled at Gus, why do so many terriers react that way to collies?); so I became the first person in the family, apart from Eduardo of course, to meet her.  A positive impression was made (speaking for myself at least).

I'm backblipping this on the 22nd.  We had broadband again last night when we came home.  This morning, the BT men must have reoccupied one of the holes in the road that they have dug, as it disappeared again.  This time the phone went completely dead, and that was literally just after I had removed the automatic message saying it was faulty.  With no internet access, I wasn't able to put the message back on.  Knottman2 says this is all to do with superfast broadband coming to the village, so I shouldn't complain.  I do hope that everything is working when they knock off for Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.