The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Ash

This ash tree stands prominently as the only standard in an old hedgerow at the top of the clay "cliff" where the Yorkshire Wolds rise from the Vale of York.  I often come up here with Gus first thing in the morning, he loves it, there are always fox trails to follow and the possibility of bunnies to give futile chase to.  The sky was exceptionally beautiful this morning, perhaps rather more so than back at home on the west side of the country.

I'm not sure where the nearest ash dieback disease is to here, but it is a worry for this landscape where so many of the hedgerow trees are ashes.

We are home now after our fleeting visit to Bishop Wilton.  We had lunch today with farmer Andrew and Jane, and the two fellas (the bigger fella is now bigger than the photographer fella, while the little fella is no little fella any more, soon he too will outgrow me, and possibly the bigger fella too).  With Eduardo's assistance we worked on persuading farmer Andrew to allow Gus to make a match with Jess, but there was no sign of any seasonal relaxation of resistance on that.

Last evening we spent catching up with Sandra and Bern, a good evening of Strictly entertainment, tasty food, and far too much Rioja (for me at least).  I have a photo for yesterday to blip, which I will try and do sometime tomorrow.

Thank you for all the kind comments, hearts and stars for the fell pony blip.  I will try and catch up with comments.  Alas, the new website means that only so many of the notifications received are now visible, and I am not sure who altogether I need to thank personally for the hearts in particular.

The new website got Wifie's seal of approval, particularly the full colour thumbnails.  I guess there is a fair amount of snagging to do, and a lot more features to be rolled out.  It  was a bold move by Blip Central to change a website that has such a devoted membership, and inevitably not everyone will be welcoming of change to a trusted formula.  I'm happy with it, and look forward to seeing it evolve over the next few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.