The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Knott what I ordered

This is Arnside Marsh rapidly draining after a 10 metre tide with Arnside Knott rising behind.  Gus and I went for a walk along the embankment on the way home from a visit to Mr Booth.

I had been to pick up the turkey that we had ordered a couple of weeks ago.  Alas, our turkey escaped on the way to the store, and was thought to be at large somewhere in Ripon.  I had that sinking feeling of the traveller who arrives at an airport to find his luggage is on another continent.  It's Xmas Eve and where am I going to get another turkey from?

Mr Booth sent me home to wait news of the turkey's possible recapture.  But no news came.  I rang and was told that everything had now arrived.  But when I arrived back at the store, our bird was nowhere to be found.

Mr Booth kindly gave us another, smaller bird.  Not the organic, barn-reared fellow we had hoped for; but enough for the three of us tomorrow.  All is not lost.  Mr Booth even tried to refund me the money I hadn't paid.

Have a lovely Christmas everyone who celebrates it, have a lovely day tomorrow those who don't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.