PJG844

By PJG844

Girl With The Weight Of The World In Her Hands*

This package arrived today and when I saw this warning I called 3M in to give me a hand. She immediately burst into tears and I thought “great, I can move this now”. This is food for the minions and their friends (and enemies, I/they don't have much choice) and they are spoilt. As they should be. I have noticed with the minions that if you throw out stale bread and it's not that brand that starts with W they turn their nose up. They peck, look up, have another tentative peck, frown, fold their wings on their hips, shake their little heads and fly away, leaving it for the starlings. Who'll eat anything. Fussy.

I pulled 90% of the old wood out of the chicken house today, including the door frame. Well, not so much pulled it, more like it followed me when I brushed against it, it was that rotten. Most of the time it was like playing extreme Jenga, with hazards such as rusty nails and screws, hinges and the like. Just as I was approaching the final 10% a cry of “Eeaaarghooohowowowurgh” rent the air. That was me, that was. I've been moving and struggling with all this wood with no issue but when I put my hand in my pocket to grab a tissue it suddenly felt like someone had pushed a barbwire corkscrew into my L1 vertebrae. After that every little move was agony so I had to stop. It hurt, honest. Still had to cook dinner for 3M, though. She'd starve otherwise.

When I started to move the wood a robin flew out of the chicken house and it was then that I noticed at the back on a beam was a nest. I did feel bad about disturbing it but this needs to be done. I will ensure there's access for them when I've finished. I've also got a lot of nesting boxes to put up as well. Must do soon.

* The post lady who delivered the package is a petite little thing and even though 3M towered over her refused to hand it over and insisted on taking it into the house. The delivery people here (Royal Mail and their myriad rivals) are wonderful, they can never do enough to help. And with a smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.