PJG844

By PJG844

Some A Dem Run Away

I like to think I'm not a bad chap. Well, not any more. After we'd done our shopping this morning I was going to shove all the wood in the skip so I'd get a better image in my head of what, how and when I'd be doing work to MY byre. That went out of the window as my neighbour asked me to give him a hand with a few things. No problem, let's do it. Basically it was moving a lot of feed for the animals and getting one area of the barn ready to move the belties into their winter quarters.

All my working life had been primarily desk bound so shifting 25kg sacks of food is not just a shock to the system but it's the only exercise I get since giving up various sports 30 years ago. What I don't understand is that the more physical work I do the less hungry I get. Then again, the more coffee I drink the more tired I get. I think I can be a somewhat contrary creature sometimes (“Ha!!”, says 3M).

It was all quite busy so by the time we'd moved the food, set the feeders up and filled them with hay, let Brue the Clydesdale out of his stable (he had to be shut in there while we were doing this, he can be a bit …. annoying sometimes) and moved the condemned into another field it had got dark so I missed out on taking an at least half-decent pic for today. No matter.

These are the Blackfaces in a croft nearby, close to the barn we were working in. These are actually not stupid sheep. Why are they running? Well, not because they're scared of me. No, what they were doing is running to the trailer behind Larry (which contained all the feed) and using it as a windbreak. When I walked round the side of it to see what they were up to they were all huddled up against the trailer, giving me a big grin and 2 thumbs up (the latter bit maybe an exaggeration).

Tomorrow I AM going to shift that wood, no matter what. Not even if we have the malteser sized hailstones we had last night. I am and I will. You are my witnesses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.