PJG844

By PJG844

Over The Wall

Day interrupted. My neighbour still hasn't got phone or ADSL connectivity so he asked if he could use mine, which I'm more than happy to let people do. Obviously I couldn't just go out and leave him in the house, not that I don't trust him, more like I think it would be rude to do that. I'm not a bad bloke, really, contrary to the 55 year journal 3M has maintained. All lies. I deny it all. But it was fun.

Once he'd finished we discussed details of the crofting registration process and he asked if I'd help to confirm various measurements. Again, nice bloke, me, happy to help. One of the areas we had to confirm was the garden area of MY byre as this was feud off some years ago. Long story short, this took a little (little?) longer than I thought and I hadn't bothered to put a hat or gloves on and it was bitter plus hailstones. I don't normally complain about the cold but my hands and ears were numb. And that's why I couldn't be …... bothered to do what I was going to do. Although I did go out later to feed the condemned as a favour to my neighbour as he had to go out.

I said I'd do another blip of the stone walls so I did this shot of one of my favourite parts. This is the end of the wall that separates our croft garden with MY byre garden (well, no-one else is using it …..). It seems to me that on the top someone decided to try dry stone walling but cheated by putting on a couple of old lintels and then bunging a few stones side by side which bear no resemblance to the skills of a dry stone waller. Just the sort of thing I'd do but I'm completely and utterly innocent of this.

Sea was nice today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.