PJG844

By PJG844

The New Farming Scene

Not a bad day, weather how I like it (overcast and damp) and 3M let me pootle off to the byre to carry on putting racks together (stacking racks, not some medieval torture device. Hmm. I may have an idea …), organise some tools and generally tidy up. Sadly, I quite enjoyed myself. Decided to be accompanied by a selection of 80's music, such as Young Marble Giants, Killing Joke and one of my all time favourites, John Martyn (Grace & Danger and Sapphire fall into the 80s category easily enough). Bit by bit, one area is coming together with the bonus of not needing to be decorated.

Neighbour off picking up his new bull so I quite happily fed the lambs destined for the pot, although the big lad second from the right is not. That's Tigger, lovely old boy who needs a little extra as he's recovering at the moment. One you can't see in the pic is Dinky, a 21 month old wether. Early on in his life he was going to be a pet as he was very small and the last offspring of a ewe called Blackie Blackface, who died of old age about 6 months later. Dinky, however, didn't grow up big but he did grow to be a bit of a thug and bully. When he attacked the lambs in our garden my immediate response was “mutton hotpot” and that's where he's headed. If only he'd been like Tigger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.