Old Post Office

We drove up to the Midlands today for a pre-Christmas family gathering and present exchange.  A very pleasant day.

Late in the afternoon, as the sun was getting low in the sky, I took a wander through the village with my camera.  This building is one of the oldest in the village (other than the 12th Century church) and dates from the mid 15th century. Inevitably it has been much modified and extended over the years but it still has immense character and is, justifiably, Grade II listed.  For many years it was the village Post Office but is now, I believe, a private residence.

When I was preparing to take the photograph, I was unaware of the approaching cyclist, who appeared in shot the moment I pressed the shutter release. A fortuitous arrival as he neatly fills the triangular space created by the road in the bottom right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.