Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Sunrise Over Akaroa Harbour

The only thing about wanting to photograph the sunrise on the longest day of the year is that you have to get up way too early for a Sunday morning.

My alarm went off just before 5am, but by the time I made it to the Summit Road, it was already light and the glow of the sun behind the hills behind Akaroa gave the clouds a gilt edge.

I stopped above Barry's Bay to get this shot; the sea behind me down at Pigeon Bay was enveloped in low cloud, much like the Valley was when I left home. That's the great thing about life on Banks Peninsula - it may be cloudy on one side, yet golden on the other. Originally when I left home I was intending to make it to the Southern Bays but, as you can see on the right hand side of the image, I was put off by the cloud. It seems I got the best position for the sun after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.