Betting

Today has been lovely at Rich's parents. We've been for an outdoor coffee in town with the dog. Later on, we went for a walk around the lake with niece, Lucy, and Rich's mum. 

I've started to learn Poker courtesy of Lucy (who is very patient). My photo is a great example of how razor sharp I am. Not.  I’ve also eaten Lucy’s cakes, but a little too much. Our traditional Christmas Chinese for 10 was superb and, the tradition of watching the Strictly final was also top class.

I think I have worked out my detachment from Blip. I am finding the site quite static and its personality has yet to be found.  

It’s hard to work out for me exactly where the personality has gone but I have some ideas.  I don’t see any activity outside my journal.  I think, for me, that gave part of the community feel and I don’t know if that is coming back. 

My intention when I started blip was to post a picture a day and that was it. Up until a few days ago, it had become much, much more. Now it feels like just that again. I enjoyed seeing a stream of people's activity even if I did nothing with it. People were around. For me, it wasn’t just about people commenting on my photos, it was seeing the community in action.  The Popular page is OK but unless you hunt, it barely changes so again, no community in action.

Now, I am faced with a stark white wall that seems to separate me from everyone else. The universal design has not helped the divide.

I like plenty of the site.  I do find it intuitive even if everything isn’t back or working correctly yet.  It seems stable and fast which is brilliant.  I’m OK with the fact that the site has simplified in order to do the switch early.  I have faith that bugs will be resolved and over time, plenty of the old features will return and the old site almost forgotten. 

Just not yet.  

I was expecting a new look and feel but I had not really realised what made the site for me.  What’s the betting the Blip Bother will soon be a thing of the past?  I honestly hope so.  And on that note, I shall talk about it no more in the hope of aiding my own transition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.