Midwinter Beer

It's been at least a decade since I last brewed my own beer.  I was never a real expert as I simply used beer kits imported from Britain, but I was usually fairly proud of the result and only once did something go horribly wrong producing an undrinkable liquid.
Sweden has always produced some lovely beers but they were nearly all lagers.  If you wanted a good bitter it was make your own! I then stopped brewing my own because the variety of beers available in Sweden increased around the turn of the century. A couple of local breweries were set up. One of them persuaded a Welsh brewing master to come and live in Sweden and work his magic. He was here for around three years before he was headhunted to Norway.
Anyway those six beer kits languishing in the cellar, at least ten years past their "best by" date, pricked my conscience and when I started to work a little less I decided to set four of them going.
Today was bottling day. Three days in the warm and then a couple of months in the cool cellar and they will be ready to drink.
To celebrate Midwinter we are about to drink the last beers from the last brewing I did. Ten year old beer... 
Happy Midwinter's day - Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.