The Daily Record

By havohej

The Band The Band

The Band 'The Band' (Capitol 1969)

This is the first record to feature which was part of my dad's collection. It feels a bit wrong listening to this, but it was just gathering dust in my mum's house so I bit the bullet and took everything when she recently threatened to chuck the collection out. If he loved his records anywhere as much as I do I'm sure he was heartbroken when he left them in the custody of my mum all those years ago. I suppose he might be happy that I have inherited them at last, but it's difficult to know. Maybe I'll use it as an olive branch for future communication. I'd be happy to return them if he wanted them. Hmmm.....

The main reason I love records so much is because of my dad. His collection looked so cool and he looked equally as cool when he would listen to his records on headphones whilst my mum and I watched TV (Kay was usually in bed). He would sit tapping his foot, much to my mum's chagrin, eyes closed, in another world. I thought it would be great to be able listen to own music whenever I wanted, which was one of the reasons why I was so chuffed to get my first personal stereo.

Records look great and I understood the difference the aesthetic made to the way music would sound and how you could interact with it at a young age. Although I could only play tapes as I began my music obsession, I would destroy my Dad's Eric Clapton records as soon as he was out of the house; 33, 45, 78 and back again, then scratching before I even knew what scratching was. I was a buffoon, no doubt, but I loved playing with records just as much as I loved playing them.

My dad was also the type of guy who would buy my mum records as presents which is something I try to do as often as possible. Maybe my sister or girlfriends didn't have a record player, it didn't bother me; they could frame the works of art.

The Band is a great name for a band. Although I have read that this name reflected their backing band attitude and their disinterest in fame; they were the journeymen who could turn up and back any star, I've always seen it as a grand declaration that they were The Band. In many ways they did become the band, infamous for backing Dylan on his first heretical electric tour, becoming an obsession of auteur Martin Scorsese and inspiring rock god Eric Clapton.

The eponymous LP comes in lovely gatefold sleeve evocative of an old West photograph of prospectors and there is some gold to be found inside. 'The Night they Drove Old Dixie Down', famously covered by Joan Baez, is a compelling tale of the final days of the American Civil War detailing the human misery those on the losing side experienced. The music is, like the rest of the album, quite weird. I know that sounds inane, but there's an incoherence throughout the record that I can't get my head round.

I can sense how bands like The Flaming Lips owe a debt to The Band, particularly on tracks like 'Whispering Pines', and the overall sound, even though it's deeply rooted in 'traditional' music is quite woozy, 'The Unfaithful Servant', and almost experimental. Even when they are playing Rolling Stones style blues rock laced with innuendo, 'Jemima Surrender', there's a lack of flow because it's almost too organic.

Final track, 'King Harvest (Has Surely Come)', has Mowtown type rhythms laying down the foundations for a buzzing guitar solo and spiralling organ, accompanied by deadpan and depressing lyrics about how miserable a farmer's life be. Every time the verses make you feel there is hope the chorus brings you back down. I wouldn't be surprised if David Bazan, of Perdo the Lion, based his entire career on this song.

I can't say this is a favourite of mine, but it's an important album for many reasons if you are interested in Americana and roots music and it looks great; definitely worth a listen.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.