The Daily Record

By havohej

Bars Introducing

Bars 'Introducing....' (Reflections Records 2004)

I first visited Berlin in the summer of 1994 and it was a blast. What a city; great people, great beer, great kebabs and a great hardcore scene. I was pretty disappointed to miss Grave by ten minutes, on the Soulless tour, because my German hosts assured me all gigs in Berlin started at 11pm (Death Metal ain't punk you muppets!) but I was more than excited to be driving round listening to Downset, Earth Crisis and Sick of it All at full blast trying to get there.

Apart from the Grave disappointment we went to see a Fat Wreck gig in a very dodgy East Berlin venue, which featured Lagwagon and Swingin Utters I think, and we caught Dog Eat Dog as well. I know Dog Eat Dog were and are lambasted for being the death knell for hardcore, but seeing them at the beginning, having not even heard of them, in a insanely packed venue, whilst completely out of it, was really quite brilliant. I spent all five days completely wasted and loved every minute of it, despite some disagreements with my travelling companions.

Kai, our Germanic host of hosts, took us to Core Tex, the infamous Kreuzburg based hardcore institution, and I was blown away. It was amazing to see so many cool shirts and records all in the same place. Avalanche was still OK in those days, but I had never visited a shop dedicated entirely to a type of music I loved. I thought these types of places had disappeared along with the Shades adverts in Kerrang!, and I was glad to soak up the rarefied atmosphere. I can't remember what I bought on that visit, but on my return in 1997 I got myself a quite plainly awesome embroidered Texas is the Reason hooded top which I still love to this day, even though I haven't worn it for a decade due to its faded condition.

In 2006 I was lucky enough to tour the UK with Berlin's kings of brutality, Battle Royale, whose guitarist, Tom, worked for many years in Core Tex. I think it was 2010 when Lu and I visited him and the hospitality he and the rest of the staff showed us was typical of my Berlin experiences; amazing. Is there anything better than sightseeing in one of Europe's most fascinating cities, buying records in Stefan's, vocalist of Battle Royale, slightly esoteric Bis Auf's Messer shop and ending your day with a Core Tex lock in? Yes, that's right, that's how cool Core Tex is; after they close the shop to the public you can stay on and drink from their beer fridge whilst listening to hardcore and metal. Too good.

Bars was a purchase suggested by Tom. It was in the bargain bin and he thought I would like it. I can see why, because it sounds like a mix of Sick of It All, American Nightmare and Turbonegro with Scott from Toe to Toe on vocals. In fact, it doesn't sound a million miles away from Scott's Demolition High Style project.

It's not hugely surprising that there is a bit of an American Nightmare feel to the music because the band comprises of members of Give up the Ghost and The Hope Conspiracy. Hard rocking hardcore is what you get with Bars and it's perfect music for playing poker to. They're exactly the type of band where half way through a hand people will nod their head and ask 'Who's this?'. I'll reply, 'I don't know', check the MP3 player and say, 'Bars', think that I should listen to them again soon, then promptly forget about them.

I reckon they would be great live. Particularly after a session on Berliner Kindl in Core Tex.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.