Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Town Hall Clock Tower

Quick dash into town for a luncheon yesterday. I suppose, having lived in or near Sydney for most of my life "town" will always mean Sydney city to me. I use the term without thinking. I deliberately went nowhere near Martin Place and fortunately I didn't have to.

Here is the Sydney Town Hall clock tower. Being relatively early, the light was still acceptable and I confess that I have mellowed it up a little extra in pp. Wikipedia says of it:

The Town Hall was built in the 1880s – on the site of an old cemetery – from local Sydney sandstone in the grand Victorian Second Empire style, and has been described as having "lavishly ornamented composition with focal tower and fanciful roofs". It remains the only non-religious city building from the era to retain its original function and interior.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.