Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Grumpy Archie

Yesterday evening, when I went to put the packaging in the packaging bin at the end of the street, I tripped on the kerb and went flying. Luckily, as I lay there on my back looking at the stars while slowly checking that no bones were broken, I noted that the big bin was between me and the dozen or so busy treadmills at the windows of the nearby gym, so I was unseen. So just a sore ankle, bruised buttock and loss of dignity (no - that went years ago) to add to the still sore calf muscle. What a state! 

I sent JR down town to change my purchase made in haste the other day. I’m not a good shopper… JR didn’t mind, though. Archie ‘helped’ me with a few chores - chopping wood, sawing wood, wrapping presents. We even managed some reading time snoozing time.

He’s got a new outdoor coat. Very smart, with a fur collar (future blip). He HATES it, of course. Refuses to move. But the temptation of a walk soon had him trotting along in The new atire, albeit looking a bit embarrassed. Now and again he’d just sit down. In fact, it was great, because he didn’t pull on the lead at all. We went down to the local wine merchant to buy a couple of bottles of special bubbles. We don’t go there often enough, and it does look a bit sad - not much stock - too much competition from the supermarkets, even the small local ones in the neighbourhood.

I clicked on this amusing seasonal link this afternoon - singing babies . Archie immediately started harrumphing and muttering, assuming some screechy small humans were in his house. He HATES little high pitched children's voices - even more than he hates his red jumper and new coat. He even has a wee harrumph when dozing and a wee screechy person goes past outside. And so, of course, I used it as torture a training session. I made him sit and listen to it. Several times. While giving him treats of course.

I’m annoyed that the ‘one year ago’ thumbnail isn’t on view, because it reminds me to check it out now and again. In fact, it’s not working at all on my Mac. This time last year we’d just arrived in Tanzania for our safari. Holiday of a lifetime!

And please, blipcentral, can we have proper thumbnails back sooner rather than later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.