Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cake!

Not sure about this new food. Archie was charging around the house in playful mood about 4am. This has never happened before. And I don't want it happening again, thank you. Mind you, I did get more of my book read on my new Kindle (with a backlight) when I couldn't get to sleep again.

This afternoon we popped over to see Leo and his mum and dad to deliver presents which Santa accidentally left at our house. Actually, Leo isn't into the Christmassy/Santa thing yet. Just into getting super hyperactive!

But he had made us a Gingerbread House! I ate the whole one side of the roof - it kind of broke off, so I had to have it. It was rather large. I noted that everyone else had small pieces.

Rather than leave Archie at home, we took him with us in the car - (though he did not visit Leo!) he's happy being left for a while, he just snoozes. And really, we have to keep trying to conquer the car sickness.

And he was sick on the way there. No warning, so my bag wasn't at the ready. But he was on the floor, so it was mainly on the mat and not my shoes. We stopped and cleaned up. Normally, one bout is enough. But not today.

I had him on my knee coming back through town - he loves looking at everything. Then he started to be sick again. I had the bag at the ready. But this time, he kept retching, so he sat with a bag over his muzzle for the last bit of the journey, as I did not want dog vomit on my person.

When we stopped at traffic lights the man in the car beside us was giving us odd looks. He might have thought he was witnessing a dastardly deed. There was a dog, sitting with a plastic bag over his face, and the old biddy holding him looked bloomin' guilty...

But I got out as soon as I could and Archie and I walked the rest of the way home. He trotted along like nothing had happened. Wonder when he'll grow out of this... Hopefully (very early in) in 2015!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.