My beloved Oslo - mother of pearl-clouds

It has been fog all day until suddenly the light came through in the afternoon. This is the first time I see these beautiful clouds that comes in the colors of the rainbow (at least as I can remember).


They are formed ar high latitudes in winter in conjunction with strong air slows over mountains. The clouds are formed at a height of 20-30 km and are thus more than twice as high as usual veil clouds.  The clouds consist of ice crystals that become prisms that the light passes through. The clouds occur in the period from December to February in the Nordic countries.   Such a beautiful view that put a big smile on my face!

Another view of the clouds.

Thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts on yesterday’s blip! I’m overwhelmed and most grateful. Thank you so much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.